The Demonstrations Track of ICDE 2018 provides an exciting and highly interactive way to demonstrate your data engineering-related research. Demo proposals should focus on developments in the area of data and knowledge engineering including, new technological advances in database systems, innovative data management and processing techniques and, novel applications of information technology. All demonstration submissions must:

  1. Provide the motivation behind the demonstrated concept(s)
  2. Describe the system and the technology
  3. Explain what features and scenarios will be demonstrated, and
  4. State the novelty and significance of the contribution.

Optionally, authors may submit a short video illustrating the demonstration scenario along with the paper submission.

Important Dates

All deadlines are 11:59PM US PDT

Demo Submission: September 29th October 1st, 2017
Notification of acceptance: December 22nd, 2017
Camera-Ready copy due: January 22nd February 5th, 2018

Criteria for Selecting Demos

Demonstration proposals will be selected based on several criteria including (i) novelty, (ii) research contributions of the demonstrated system, and (iii) the “wow” factor of the demonstration. The proposal must clearly describe the functionality that will be demonstrated, and how the audience will be able to interact with the system.

Demo Submission Information

Manuscripts must be prepared in accordance with the given submission guidelines. Demo papers must not exceed 4 pages, including references.

Only electronic submissions in PDF format will be considered. Please upload your submission to the ICDE 2018 Demos Track through the CMT submission site. The Demo proposal must be submitted prior to the due date specified above.

To minimize biases in the evaluation process, we use CMT‘s conflict management system, through which authors should flag conflicts with the Demo Program Committee members.
All authors of a submission must declare conflicts on CMT prior to the submission deadline. You have a conflict with X:

  • If you and X have worked in the same university or company in the past two years, or will be
    doing so in the next six months on account of an accepted job offer.
  • If you and X have collaborated recently, as evidenced in a joint publication or jointly
    organized event in the past two years, or are collaborating now.
  • If you are the PhD thesis advisor of X or vice versa, irrespective of how long ago this was.
  • If X is a relative or close personal friend.

Submissions with undeclared conflicts or spurious conflicts will be desk rejected. There will be NO exceptions to this rule.

Video submissions can be up to 5 minutes long (file size of up to 30MB), and are optional for demo paper submission.
Videos should be submitted in the CMT system. The video must be in MPEG format and must be playable using a wide variety of media players, including VLC Media player.

Demo proposals submitted to ICDE cannot be under review for any other publishing forum or presentation venue (including conferences, workshops, and journals) during the time they are being considered for ICDE. Furthermore, after you submit to ICDE, you must await our response and only resubmit elsewhere if your demo is rejected (or withdrawn at your request). This restriction applies to identical submissions as well as to submissions with a substantial overlap in scientific content and results.

Demo manuscripts will be included in the conference proceedings. IEEE reserves the right to exclude a demo paper from distribution after the conference (e.g., removal from IEEE Xplore) if none of the authors attends the conference to present the demonstration.

Demo Chairs

  • Chee-Yong Chan (National University of Singapore)
  • Minos Garofalakis (Technical University of Crete)
  • Christopher Re (Stanford University)

Demo Track PC Members

  • Lisi Chen (Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong)
  • Theodore Dalamagas (ATHENA Research Center, Greece)
  • Mohamed Y. Eltabakh (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Pascal Felber (University of Neuchatel, Switzerland)
  • George H.L. Fletcher (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Gabriel Ghinita (University of Massachusetts Boston, USA)
  • Nikos Giatrakos (Technical University of Crete, Greece)
  • Yeye He (Microsoft Research, USA)
  • Haibo Hu (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong)
  • Zbigniew Jerzak (SAP, Germany)
  • Arijit Khan (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Nectarios Koziris (National Technical University of Athens, Greece)
  • Chengkai Li (University of Texas Arlington, USA)
  • Xiang Lian (Kent State University, USA)
  • Odysseas Papapetrou (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Aditya Parameswaran (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Maya Ramanath (IIT Delhi, India)
  • Etienne Riviere (University Catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
  • Assaf Schuster (Technion, Israel)
  • Nan Tang (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar)
  • Wei Wang (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Sai Wu (Zhejiang University, China)
  • Yingjun Wu (IBM Almaden Research, USA)
  • Nikolay Yakovets (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Dongxiang Zhang (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China)
  • Wenchao Zhou (Georgetown University, USA)
  • Yongluan Zhou (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)